I Don’t Want to Cry!

 cry

What is crying?

From Wikipedia

Crying is the shedding of tears in response to an emotional state in humans.

Crying is believed to be an outlet or a result of a burst of intense emotional sensations, such as agony, surprise or joy.

Why do we cry?

From How Stuff Works

We have three types of tears.

Basal tears are always in our eyes. These tears are what keep our eyes from drying out

Reflex tears, which protect our eyes from irritants

Emotional tears

According to WebMD crying is a release from built up energy from emotions. Weather it be sad or happy.

  ‘When you cry,” she says, “it’s a signal you need to address something.” Among other things, it may mean you are frustrated, overwhelmed or even just trying to get someone’s attention

I Hate Crying!

I have always hated crying. Most of that reason is because I didn’t really know why I was crying. I am not so tuned in to my body. I’d cry and someone would ask what was wrong and I hated trying to tell them when I didn’t actually know myself. Also my father didn’t like it when you cried and told you not to. Even my husband was uncomfortable when my daughter would cry.

I would cry at a stupid commercial or at someone singing and of course at sad movies. So I got to the point that I would stifle my crying.

For various reasons, a lot of people push down their tears; they suppress them,” Sideroff says. One of the consequences is we sort of deaden ourselves, to suppress or not even notice we have those feelings inside. The way that looks to the outside world is depression.

This just added to my confusion of what I was feeling.

better to acknowledge feelings such as sadness and hurt, he says. “Feelings are not about good or bad, it’s just what is.”

When I entered therapy I learned, reluctantly, that I needed to cry. While I did plenty of crying during therapy. I had to watch sad movies to get my tears going at home. However I still hate trying to converse with someone while crying.

WebMD has some good advice for someone responding to a crier.

Be aware that if you do nothing, you can make the crier feel worse

Try to do something supportive. What that is depends on the situation and how well you know the person, ”So hugging someone you aren’t very close with might not be appropriate, while simply listening in an empathetic way would be suitable,”

Don’t assume you know how to comfort them. ”The less intimate the relationship, the more it is appropriate to begin by asking how you can help and be supportive,”

Know that criers who tear up in a very large group generally feel more uncomfortable than those who cry in front of one or two people they’re familiar with. But even in a large group, the criers welcome support from those they didn’t know well.

Do You Cry Easily or Do You Try Not to?
Author: MoonGirl

Me.

Leave a Reply

